Adulting Is Hard

July 17, 2017 § Leave a comment

The past few weeks have been… difficult. I decided to take the kids on a road trip at the beginning of July for my sister’s 30th birthday. We drove 14 hours straight, which in hindsight, was a bad choice. However, we arrived and successfully surprised my sister! Yes, there were tears. 

During this two week period, which involved meeting up with friend, handing children off for sleep overs with grandparents, birthday parties, shopping, oh and the worst part, terrible stomach viruses. This last part, the stomach viruses, postponed the return trip a few days. 

There has been a lot going on this summer. Between moving, having to fill up my kid’s time with activities, and school I have yet to figure out a good balance. And my school has decided to have no breaks between terms. Which means I do an eight week term which ends on a Sunday, and start the new 8 week term that next day on the Monday. 

What’s been the hardest part of being in school, and staying at home with my children is that I need to really focus on my work when I have no time. Children are constantly running around, screaming, giggling, asking questions, needing food, water, milk, or throwing a fit because they aren’t able to have plastic bag on their head, or can’t eat soap. 

This is my final year, my senior year at Southern New Hampshire University, which means that my year will be filled with English/writing courses, and electives of my choosing. This is the point in my education where I really want to focus, and do everything to the best of my abilities. Not that I wasn’t 100% in the rest of the time, my GPA is 3.75 or something (toot toot). But these writing courses are applicable to what I want to do for a career. 

So, how will I balance everything in my life? I’m feeling a bit flustered lately. I want so badly to be a good writer. Not the next F. Scott Fitzgerald or Jane Austen, writing the next great American novel would be nice, but I just want to be good at it. I am nervous that I won’t be. That everything going on in my life right now is too much to truly  pay attention my work. I don’t want to just make it through, I want to study and learn. 

Jack starts school in August which will make things a little easier. Just having one, and that one being able to entertain herself, will leave me time to myself. 

Until then though … 

TCA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adulting Is Hard at Tenderly Caffeinated Avenue.

meta

