Horizon Organic Gluten Free Cheesy Mac: A Review 

June 6, 2017 § Leave a comment

To know me is to know that I love Mac n cheese! I’m not kidding! I love cheese, I love noodles, their marriage is pure bliss in a bowl! 

However, sadly wheat products and gluten do not sit well with me, and I have had to cut it out of my diet. You heard right. No bread, no noodles, nothing fluffy and delicious. This has made my life pretty bland. I know, I know, there are plenty of gluten free options that are delicious and won’t wreck my GI tract. But let me tell ya, there really aren’t. Usually, they are horrible substitutes that are so off-putting that I just rather not eat bread, or any of it’s horrible substitutes ever again. 

That being said, there are a few substitutes I do enjoy. Udi’s does gluten free bread and chocolate muffins that are great! Wish I didn’t have to pay half a million dollars for four muffins, but occasional it’s nice to treat yo’self. 

When I was in my local grocery store I happened upon Horizon Organic Gluten Free Cheesy Mac I was excited! I thought to myself, “Horizon? Aren’t those the people who make the super creamy, delicious chocolate milk?”  I was so excited I bought a box that costs more than two boxes of Velveeta Mac n Cheese. I was hopeful, ready to dive into this yummy bowl of goodness that was in fact, going to be ok for me to eat. Unlike the other Mac n cheeses, which my body wholly rejects, this one was going to be amazing! 

The kicker is that I had been on an extremely restrictive diet for 26 days, without a cheat meal at all! This was going to be a celebration! 

I boiled the noodles. 

Poured the white cheese powder into 3/4 cup of milk. 

Now, you have to know when dealing with Gluten Free noodles, if it says boil for 8 – 10 mins, you boil it for 15 to 20. Then the texture will be something like normal noodles. 

I did it. 

Than it was time. Time to indulge, not only because it was Gluten Free, but because I hadn’t had carbs in almost a month! 

So, imagine my world crashing down on itself as I began to chew my first bite. Where I thought I would be enjoying a cheesy, gooey, mess of Mac n cheese, I was greeted with tough, aldente noodles, and cheese that was tasteless and watery. The noodles had a strange after taste, in that hot sauce could not cover up. 

But, call it laziness or not being a wasteful person, I ate the whole, horrible bowl. 

Needless to say, I do not recommend this product, and I will not be buying it again. 

Will they ever make a gluten free Mac n cheese that is equal in deliciousness to Velveeta Mac n cheese? I don’t know, but I don’t think I will continue searching. It’s too hard. 
Lol until next time… 

TCA 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Horizon Organic Gluten Free Cheesy Mac: A Review  at Tenderly Caffeinated Avenue.

meta

