Mommy Blogging

June 2, 2017 § 3 Comments

A lot of my friends have suggested that I start a lifestyle blog, essentially this would mean that I mommy blog. I have nothing against mommy blogging. I am a mommy, I do blog, but there is a difference, I think, between my blogging and what mommy bloggers do (for the most part).

Most mommy bloggers tend to talk about how wonderful being a mommy is. And while there are aspects of motherhood that I love, there are certainly more that I do not. You see, I am a stay at home mom out of necessity not out of the desire to raise up my children. To put it simply, it’s too expensive to send my children to daycare. So, I stay home, do school around nap times, and find the happy in my situation until things can change. I am not miserable, but I just don’t feel like motherhood is where my talents are best utilized. That is to say, I don’t think I am a fantastic mom.

Now please, I do not say that to get sympathy because I am happy in my life now, but you won’t find me making arts and crafts with my little ones every day. I don’t fill up their days with activities and play dates, they don’t eat everything organic, I didn’t even nurse for God sake! So, how can this mom, who isn’t thrilled about having to take my kids to the park during the day because she hates to sweat supposed to mommy blog? Aren’t mommy bloggers supposed to LOVE every second being moms?

My blog would consist of the struggles that fill my day. Teaching my son that cornering his sister with the hose will not make her want to play with him. Teaching my daughter that screaming for every, little thing is not the way to get what she wants. Potty training battles, the correct way to wipe your own butt, etc, etc, etc. Believe me, people on my Facebook will tell you that I complain, and highlight my mommy fails a lot. But I find that this is the way that I vent. This is how I get through my day, by venting, writing, photographing, documenting my struggles. I feel like people can relate to that more than they can to this idea of the perfect mom.

I am sure I will write about my mommy fails here from time to time, but I am not sure that’s what I want my blog to be about.

TCA

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Mommy Blogging

  • I hear ya. The term “mommy blog” definitely conjures up some assumptions for me that you touched on as well – being a mom is awesome, I am be best mom on Earth, everybody should raise their kids like me, blah, blah blah.

    I have also been struggling with the identity of my blog because I don’t want to be labeled a Mommy Blog. That begin said, a big aspect of creating great content is making it relatable and incorporating personal aspects for your readers. If being a mom is a big part of you, you should definitely blog about it, but you can also position yourself to write about whatever else you want and not put yourself in a box.

    I think your experience and life situation will be interesting for readers and there is an audience for it.

    • You’re my first comment ever!!!

      I have thought about just blogging about my life, being a mom, a student, a writer, but I am not sure I want to have such a broad range of topics. Maybe I should simplify?

      Thanks so much for your comment!

      • Simplifying is definitely a possibility, but I think you should stay true to who you are. Our identities are intersecting. If you are all of those things and they are important parts of YOU, then it’s impossible them.

        What you may want to do is just make sure in all your posts you are giving updates on the main theme. For example, perhaps you write a post about how you find time to study while being a busy mom. You could also introduce the post by including a quick update on what is going on with your kids at that time to tie it together and make is more personal/relatable. I really think you have a great perspective to share. I advise college students, a lot of whom are non-traditional and have children. There’s an audience for you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mommy Blogging at Tenderly Caffeinated Avenue.

meta

