The About Me Section

June 1, 2017 § Leave a comment

I noticed that I have gained a few followers, and I thought it was about time I introduce myself properly. I have mentioned things here and there about my life, and who I am, but I think to better understand where I am coming from and where I am trying to go, I should let you know a bit more. So, dear reader, here it is. Me.

I’ll start with a little bit about where I am from. I am from the South, not one place in particular, I have lived in several southern states. I am the middle child, I have an older brother and a younger sister, we are divided by two years between us all. I had a good childhood, nothing tragic or traumatic has ever really happened to me, I count my blessings as far as this is concerned. I was homeschooled my whole life until college. My parents were, hippies I believe would the easiest way to explain them. However, when I was about 16 I decided that rather than finish school I was going to just work the rest of my life. My father had done it, started his own painting company, not an empire mind you, but it has served him well most of his life. I have never been one with much ambition. I have never wanted to be a CEO, or even the boss of a company. When people I have worked for suggested that I become a leader I have shied away from it. I am type B personality, this means I have the skills to lead, but I do not have the desire. I am fine not being the one that everyone has to answer to. In fact, I like a job that is something comes up I can send the unhappy party to someone else to solve their problem. It isn’t that I cannot be the boss, I just don’t want to. This way of thinking, of being, is not conducive to wanting to quit school and just work my way through life. After I quit high school I worked small jobs, enough to save some money, quit, and then travel with friends. I did this until I was 20. Then I realized how I had made the wrong decision, and decided to get my GED. This remains my only regret in my life.

After I started college at the small community college in my town, I worked retail jobs and just pursued my degree for a few years. Because I had quit school I had so many remedial classes that my 4 year degree was going to take more like 6. This was discouraging, but I was resolved to finish. I have always been someone who has loved reading and writing. I was determined that I was going to finish my degree, and make something of myself.

At 23 I met my husband. I had gone with some friends to a poker night. Standing in the courtyard with my friends, my husband came around and I will be honest, I didn’t think much of him. He was cute, sure, but he wasn’t what I was looking for. In fact, I wasn’t looking for anyone in that context. I didn’t want to get married or have children. When I looked at my life, my future, I was happy to be alone. I saw myself working, writing, and just travelling. I could see myself sitting in some European country, sipping coffee, and enjoying quiet afternoons writing. After I met my husband my life goals changed drastically. After knowing him only 6 months we got married. 3 years later our son, Jack was born. 3 and a half years after Jack, Olivia arrived. We moved from our home in Louisiana to Frisco, Texas. Eventually, we moved three more times within Texas, and now we reside in North Carolina. My life is not what I had planned, but I love it! There are moments, moments that all I want in life is a few moments to myself. My children can be annoying. Yes, I said it… ANNOYING. But I love them, and I wouldn’t change what my life has become for anything.

So, now here I am 31, and in my last year of my bachelor’s degree. Yes, that’s right, it will take me 11 years to get my 4 year degree, and to that I say this…. I DID IT! I am not ashamed of the length of time it has taken me, however, being so close to graduating I feel an anxiety about the end being nigh. I am I too old to start a career right now? Is getting into a MFA program a possibility? How do I even get started? I am so anxious that I will graduate, and not be able to find work, because my work history is so horrible. Short term employments, no employment.

If you are reading this, and have any advice for me, please leave it in the comments. I would love a little guidance. I have been thinking about freelance writing, but I am not very confident in my writing skills.

TCA

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The About Me Section at Tenderly Caffeinated Avenue.

meta

